Gregory Crewdson

A few weeks ago I watched “Gregory Crewdson Brief Encounters” on Netflix, a documentary that follows this photographer’s “10-year quest to create a series of haunting, surreal, and stunningly elaborate portraits of small-town American life – filmed with unprecedented access as he makes perfect renderings of a disturbing, imperfect world”.

At first, I was a little confused because, as a production assistant, I know what a “movie set” and a “photo-shooting set” looks like… and Crewdson’s sets looked like they belonged in a high-budget film. It turns out that was the exact purpose of his project.

The staging and manipulation is unbelievable, and the results are just mind-blowing. However, it was Crewdson’s psychology while making this project what really captivated me. As someone who is pursuing a creative career, I often find myself second-guessing the things that I do or feeling that my work “could be much better”. And then I stumble with people like Gregory who still feels just the same way I do in spite of having a successful career and access to do anything and everything he wants. It goes to show me – and every creative out there – that choosing a career in this field is a never-ending battle with our own egos in which we should always keep determined to do what we love.

Go ahead and watch it. You need to see what goes behind these pictures.

Leave a Reply

